Booky Bits

Monthly Round Up – April 2019

Hello MOJO – welcome back! April was a great month for reading and listening to audible books and I managed 12 books and even read a few outside my comfort zone.

Below are the books with a brief description and link to my full review.  Happy Reading!

The Swap – Fiona Mitchell

Two women. Two children. But whose is whose?

A gripping page turner about 2 women finding out their IVF embryos were swapped and they’ve been raising someone else’s child for 3 years.  LOVED THIS and HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT.

Click here for my full review

Gallery of The Dead – Chris Carter

Thirty-seven years in the force, and if I was allowed to choose just one thing to erase from my mind, what’s inside that room would be it.

Book # 9 in the awesome, gruesome Robert Hunter Series.  Not so gory as usual, but the story seemed more personal and character driven and was an enjoyable departure from the usual sick ‘n’ twisted stuff.

Click here to read my full review.

My Lovely Wife – Samantha Downing

Dexter meets Mr. and Mrs. Smith in this wildly compulsive debut thriller about a couple whose fifteen-year marriage has finally gotten too interesting…

A dark, sinister and brilliant psychological thriller which I thoroughly enjoyed and recommend 100%

Click here to read my full review.

The Power – Naomi Alderman

A gripping story of how the world would change if power was in the hands of women but also exposes, with breath-taking daring, our contemporary world.

So far out of my comfort zone – but I listened in awe via Audible and thought it was FANTASTIC.

Click here for my full review.

Fallen Angel – Chris Brookmyre

A standalone psychological thriller full of twists, lies and betrayal.

My first novel by this author and definitely NOT my last.

Read my full review here as part of the blogtour.

 

The Chain – Adrian McKinty

Ahhhhh.. I’m not allowed to post my thoughts yet so you have to wait until nearer publication date but I will say everything that’s being said about this book is TRUE.

 

Mr Todd’s Reckoning – Iain Maitland

Norman Bates is alive and well… He’s living just next door

Dark, Disturbing, Dysfunctional and absolutely DIVINE – I loved this book and thoroughly recommend it to all who love uncomfortable psychological thrillers.

Read my full review here.

 

Your Deepest Fear – David Jackson

Another gripping and brilliant story featuring DS Nathan Cody and you will have to wait until May 13th when it’s my turn on the blogtour to read my thoughts.

 

Hunting Evil – Chris Carter

Woo hoo – Book 10 in one of my favourite series and you have to wait until 8th May when it’s my turn on the blogtour to read my review.

 

 

Goodbye For Now – Laurie Frankel

A poignant, heart-warming novel of love, loss and the possibility of keeping the past alive in a wholly unexpected way for fans of ONE DAY, WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT and THE NOTEBOOK.

Probably a brilliant book when it was first published in 2012 but unfortunately it didn’t work for me.

Here’s my Goodreads Review.

The Girl in the  Letter – Emily Gunnis

A heartbreaking letter. A girl locked away. A mystery to be solved.

I listened to this on Audible and whilst the narrator was brilliant this story unfortunately didn’t do it for me.

Reviewed on Goodreads.

The Librarian of Auschwitz – Antonio Iturbe

Based on the incredible and moving true story of Dita Kraus, holocaust survivor and secret librarian for the children’s block in Auschwitz.  This is the story of the smallest library in the world – and the most dangerous.

Utterly heartbreaking and beautifully written.  Read my full review here.

You Might Also Like

%d bloggers like this: