Genesis – Chris Carter (Robert Hunter #12)

‘Do you believe the Devil exists, Detective?’ the officer at the end of the line asks. ‘Because if you don’t . . . I’m sure you will once you get here.’

Robert Hunter is called to the most vicious crime scene he has ever attended. It is made even more disturbing when the autopsy reveals a poem, left by the killer, inside the body of their victim.
Soon, another body is found. The methods and signature of the murder differs, but the level of violence used suggests that the same person is behind both crimes. Hunter’s fears are confirmed when a second part of the poem is found.

But this discovery does more than just link the two killings – it suggests that this is the work of a serial murderer.

With no forensic evidence to go on, Robert Hunter must catch the most disciplined and systematic killer that he has ever encountered, someone who thrives on the victims’ fear, and to whom death is a lesson that needs to be taught.

From #1 Sunday Times and multi-million copy bestselling author, Chris Carter, comes the most compelling and ruthless Robert Hunter thriller yet.

Book Info: Print length: 540 pages. Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK. Publication Date: 18 Aug 2022

About the author: Chris Carter was born in Brasilia, Brazil where he spent his childhood and teenage years. After graduating from high school, he moved to the USA where he studied psychology with specialization in criminal behaviour. During his University years he held a variety of odd jobs, ranging from flipping burgers to being part of an all male exotic dancing group.

He worked as a criminal psychologist for several years before moving to Los Angeles, where he swapped the suits and briefcases for ripped jeans, bandanas and an electric guitar. After a spell playing for several well known glam rock bands, he decided to try my luck in London, where he was fortunate enough to have played for a number of famous artists.  He toured the world several times as a professional musician.  A few years ago he gave it all up to become a full time writer.

My Review:

This is book 12 in one of my favourite series and possibly the most grisliest and disturbing to date, and if you have read any of the previous books, then you will know that they were pretty gruesome too.

This is not a series for those who are squeamish as the crimes and killers in each book get more and more sick and twisted and honestly, I don’t know what goes on in the authors mind, but the violence in Genesis is absolutely shocking. There are several trigger warnings on this book and if you think you may be affected by the storyline, then I would recommend NOT reading this book because I can normally read anything but even I found Genesis very raw and brutal.

Back to the story… Detectives Robert Hunter and Carlos Garcia are back again, in possibly their most brutal and vicious cases since The Crucifix Killer. When the body of a young woman is found (I can’t even tell you how sick this murder is) the police automatically call Hunter as head of the LAPD’s Ultra Violent Crimes and when they arrive on scene even Robert & Carlos are shaken to their core.

With a very sick killer on the loose and more bodies start to appear, it’s obvious they have a serial killer with an agenda who needs to be stopped.

If you have read Chris Carter’s books before, you will know these are very fast paced, gripping thrillers and Genesis is no exception, however the violence and crimes have definitely been escalated to an entirely new level of terror.

It’s strange having to say I enjoyed this book because I might sound like a psycho.. but as ever Chris Carter delivers another highly entertaining, raw and often brutal thriller covering on some very real and important issues from suicide and depression to bullying.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Books in order:

  1.  The Crucifix Killer
  2. The Executioner
  3. The Night Stalker
  4. The Death Sculptor
  5. One by One
  6. An Evil Mind
  7. I am Death
  8. The Caller
  9. Gallery of The Dead
  10. Hunting Evil
  11. Written in Blood
  12. Genesis

Find this book on Amazon