Reviews

Before I Let You Go – Kelly Rimmer

About the Book: Your sister or her baby. Who do you choose?

A moving page-turner with a heart-pounding dilemma. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Jojo Moyes will love Kelly Rimmer.

As children, Lexie and Annie were incredibly close. Bonded by the death of their beloved father, they weathered the storms of life together. When Lexie leaves home to follow her dream, Annie is forced to turn to her leatherbound journal as the only place she can confide her deepest secrets and fears…

As adults, sisters Lexie and Annie could not be more different. Lexie is a successful doctor and happily engaged. Annie is an addict – a thief, a liar and unable to remain clean. When Annie’s newborn baby is in danger of being placed in foster care, Annie picks up the phone to beg her sister for help. Will Lexie agree to take in her young niece? And how will Annie survive, losing the only thing in her life worth living for?

About the Author: Kelly Rimmer is a USA Today best-selling women’s fiction author. Her books have been published in 16 languages. She lives in rural Australia with her husband, two children and fur-baby, and when she’s not working on a story, she can often be found eavesdropping on strangers in cafes. It’s research, not nosiness. Honest.

My Review:  Whenever I read a book by Kelly Rimmer I always feel I am learning something new.  Whether it’s about the forced adoptions in Australia in the incredible “The Secret Daughter” or the grief and denial in the superb “A Mother’s Confession” and “Before I Let You Go” is no different.  It’s a heartbreaking story about love, loyalty, addiction and how far we will go to protect our family.

Before I Let You go is about two sisters bound by their tragic childhood.  Lexie is a successful GP with a fiance and a lovely home, Annie is a deeply troubled drug addict who comes back into Lexie’s life heavily pregnant and in need of immediate medical attention and help.

This emotional and often uncomfortable story focuses on Lexie’s unwavering determination and belief that she is fully responsible for Annie’s recovery and well being, however when faced with having to care for Annie’s newborn baby whilst she is in a recovery centre, Lexie has some awful truths to uncover.

This book is a thought-provoking, emotional and often heartbreaking read and I thoroughly recommend it.

You Might Also Like

%d bloggers like this: