Reviews

My Little Eye – Stephanie Marland (Starke & Bell #1)

Can a group of true crime addicts take on a struggling police force to catch a serial killer?
The thriller with the twists you’ll never see coming! Perfect for fans of The Girl in the Ice and The Missing Ones. Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer?

KISS THE GIRLS
A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals – the latest victim of ‘The Lover’. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out.

AND MAKE THEM DIE…
As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands – to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group.

As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they’re being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim – Clementine – firmly in his sights.

My Review:  This is the first book written by Steph Broadribb under the pen name of Stephanie Marland and is the start of a cracking new series.  With a cast of fascinating characters, a twisted serial killer and enough red herrings to keep the most seasoned crime thriller reader on their toes, My Little Eye is fast-paced, gripper of a read.

There’s a serial killer loose in London, preying on young woman, killing them in an unspeakable way and the police are no closer to catching him. Nicknamed The Lover by the press – this psychopath appears unstoppable and leaves no clues.

Enter Clementine Starke, a Phd student and avid crime researcher who joins an online group of armchair detectives who are convinced they can solve crimes quicker than the police, however Clementine has her own agenda for joining this group.  Then we have the Detective Inspector – Dominic (Dom) Bell – a copper with a history and issues who needs to catch the killer for his own redemption.

This book is a great introduction to Starke and Bell and I look forward to following their stories in future books.

About the Author: Stephanie Marland has worked in the University sector for over ten years and published research on how people interact and learn together in virtual environments online. She’s an alumni of the MA in Creative Writing (Crime Fiction) at City University London, and an avid reader of all things crime fiction, blogging about books at www.crimethrillergirl.com. Steph also writes the Lori Anderson action thriller series (as Steph Broadribb) for Orenda Books.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Join the Conversation

%d bloggers like this: