Reviews

The Disciple – Steven Dunne (Damen Brook Book 2)

DI Brook thought the nightmare was over- but the Reaper has left behind a horrifying legacy…

When an accidental drowning is found to be murder, Brook’s past relationship with the victim makes him the prime suspect. A fact made worse when he receives a chilling message urging him to continue the work of the serial killer The Reaper, the deranged vigilante who had previously terrorised the UK.

When a copycat murder on a Derby estate surfaces shortly afterwards, Brook is left with no alternative but to reopen the case- and to find a serial killer he knows is already dead.

But as Brook delves deeper, he unearths the secrets behind a series of savage murders stretching back to 1975. Terrifyingly, it seems that The Reaper’s influence has inspired a new band of willing disciples…

A nail-shredding thriller for fans of Stuart MacBride and Thomas Harris.

My Review:  I read Steven’s first book a few months ago and thought it was great and then carried on trying to catch up with my ever expanding TBR list. After a gentle and subtle prompt for Mr Dunne I started The Disciple book 2 a few days ago. This is IMHO absolutely brilliant with an edge of your seat gripping storyline that just got better and better. Well done Sir Steven and I will definitely read the next book very very soon.  Note: This is the second book in the wonderful DI Brook Series and my advice to everyone is start with book 1 The Reaper first.

About the Author: Steven Dunne was born in Bradford, West Yorkshire. He went to the University of Kent after A levels and studied as little as possible, yet somehow emerged with a second class honours degree. He began writing articles for quality newspapers on dull subjects before writing the book for the Latchmere Theatre’s award-winning fringe production of Hansel and Gretel in 1989. He co-also co-wrote the revue, It’s Mad Mad World, We’re Plastered performed at the Rhoda McGaw Theatre in Woking the previous year and played the role of Teddy in the same theatre’s production of Harold Pinter’s The Homecoming the same year.
In the 1996 he moved up to his adopted home town of Derby. In 2007, he self-published Reaper, a thriller set in the city, featuring the hyper-intelligent but mentally troubled detective, DI Damen Brook. The rights were optioned by Harper Collins and four more critically-acclaimed books followed. He is currently writing the 6th book in the DI Brook series, entitled Death Do Us Part and the 5th in the series, A Killing Moon, won the coveted literary prize the East Midlands Book Award in 2016.

Books in Order:

  1. The Reaper
  2. The Disciple
  3. Deity
  4. The Unquiet Grave
  5. A Killing Moon
  6. Death Do Us Part

Read my Ask the Author Interview with Steven Dunne here

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Join the Conversation

%d bloggers like this: