Reviews

The Girl With All The Gifts – M R Carey

About the Book: Melanie is a very special girl. Dr. Caldwell calls her “our little genius.”

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children’s cells. She tells her favourite teacher all the things she’ll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn’t know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman

My Review:  First of all I have never read any books in this genre and to be honest when I started this book (I listened to this on Audible), I had absolutely NO idea what it was about.  I thought it was about a little girl kept in a cell – duh!

It’s difficult to review this book without giving much away, except to say that Melanie is a very special little girl for all kinds of reasons but the reason that really got under my skin was her naivety, her innocence and her desire to be loved and a thirst for knowledge.

There’s very little else I can say about this book except it’s best to read it without reading the reviews (which is a slight contradiction here as I’m reviewing the book!).  A really powerful and thought-provoking story which also is exceptionally well narrated in the audio version and the film is pretty good too.

About the Author:  M. R. Carey has been making up stories for most of his life. His novel The Girl With All the Gifts was a word-of-mouth bestseller and is now a major motion picture based on his own screenplay. Under the name Mike Carey he has written for both DC and Marvel, including critically acclaimed runs on Lucifer, Hellblazer and X-Men. His creator-owned series The Unwritten appeared regularly in the New York Times graphic fiction bestseller list. He also has several previous novels, games, radio plays, and TV and movie screenplays to his credit.

You Might Also Like

%d bloggers like this: