Blog Tours Reviews

#Blogtour – The Proposal – SE Lynes

I am delighted to be part of the #Blogtour for SE Lynes The Proposal and my thanks to Kim and Bookouture for organising the tour.

About the book: ‘The first thing you should know, dear reader, is that I am dead…’

Teacher Pippa wants a second chance. Recently divorced and unhappy at work, she uproots her life to renovate a beautiful farmhouse in the countryside, determined to make a fresh start. But Pippa soon realises: your troubles are never far behind.

When Pippa meets blue-eyed Ryan Marks, he is funny, charming, and haunted by his past. He might just be the answer to all her problems. But how well does she really know him?

She knows the story of his life, the pain that stays with him, the warmth of his smile and the smell of his skin. She knows he can make her laugh over a glass of wine.

Pippa can tell truth from lies. She’d know if she were in danger. Wouldn’t she?

From Amazon chart bestseller S.E. Lynes, The Proposal is a page-turning and utterly gripping thriller about the lengths we will go to for someone we love. Perfect for fans of Gone GirlThe Woman at the Window and The Wife Between Us.

My Review:  There is no doubt in my mind that S E Lynes is like a good old and smelly cheese – she gets better with age and boy oh boy, each of her books get better and better.

Without rehashing the blurb above, it’s safe to say that The Proposal is a very dark and uncomfortable psychological thriller.  The author has a real talent of grabbing the reader by the “short n curlies” and taking them on a roller-coaster of emotions from page one until the end.

The book is narrated by the main character Pippa.   Told from her private journals and her instagram/social media account we learn all about Pippa, a successful romance author and a very disturbing and dangerous individual called Ryan.  I don’t want to give anything else away – except to warn you that this book has similarities to Pringles as once you start reading you just can’t stop.  Bravo Ms Lynes another brilliant psychological thriller.

About the Author: S E Lynes is the author of psychological thrillers, VALENTINA, published by Blackbird Digital Books, MOTHER, THE PACT, published by Bookouture, and THE PROPOSAL – out 21st September 2018.
After graduating from Leeds University, S E Lynes lived in London before moving to Aberdeen where she worked as a programme producer at the BBC before moving with her husband, Paul, and two young children to Rome.
In Rome, she began to write while her children attended nursery. After the birth of her third child and upon her return to the UK, she gained an MA in Creative Writing from Kingston University.
She now combines writing with lecturing at Richmond Adult Community College and bringing up her three children. She has also published two children’s books in Italy.

You Might Also Like

%d bloggers like this: