Reviews

The Widow – Fiona Barton

BlurbWhen the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman.  One who enabled her and her husband to carry on, when more bad things began to happen…

But that woman’s husband died last week. And Jean doesn’t have to be her anymore.

There’s a lot Jean hasn’t said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment.

Now there’s no reason to stay quiet. There are people who want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them that there were secrets. There always are in a marriage.

The truth—that’s all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything…

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, an electrifying thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife.

My ReviewFirstly my thanks to the publisher for sending me the ARC of this new hotly anticipated book due out in January 2016.
This story centres around the abduction (and possible murder) of 2 year old Bella and is told through the (unreliable) eyes of the detective in charge, the press reporter and the wife (widow) of the man accused of taking the little girl.

This was a compelling and gripping story, with plenty of twists and turns and a few red herrings thrown in and I would definitely recommend it

About The Author: Fiona Barton trains and works with journalists all over the world. Previously, she was a senior writer at the Daily Mail, news editor at the Daily Telegraph, and chief reporter at the Mail on Sunday, where she won Reporter of the Year at the British Press Awards. The Widow is her first novel and she is working on her second, The Child. Born in Cambridge, she currently lives in south-west France.

Genre – Psychological Thriller – Read October 2015

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Join the Conversation

%d bloggers like this: