Reviews

You, Me and Other People – Fionnuala Kearney

Blurb:  They Say Every Family Has Skeletons In Their Closet . . .

But what happens when you open the door and they won’t stop tumbling out?

For Adam and Beth the first secret wasn’t the last, it was just the beginning. You think you can imagine the worst thing that could happen to your family, but there are some secrets that change everything. And then the question is, how can you piece together a future when your past is being rewritten?
You, Me and Other People is the life-affirming, heartbreaking and ultimately stunning debut novel from Fionnuala Kearney.
For fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes and David Nicholls.

My Review:I loved this book and devoured it in a day. The author tells the story of a marriage breakup through the eyes of Beth and Adam and I loved reading each chapter and how they coped and felt. To see the story unfold via his story and her story was wonderful and I think I am actually going to miss this family now. Highly recommended x

About the Author: Fionnuala discovered, age six, that she had in fact been christened Ann (that’s Ann with no ‘e’) and that her parents had decided, for some reason, to saddle her with a life of dealing with unnecessary vowels. At twenty she moved to London and marrying Mr. Kearney proved to be the best thing she ever did, apart from the fact that the vowel thing escalated further. Two daughters, both with deliberately simple mono syllabic names followed.

She worked, for many years, in London as a home search agent (like Phil and Kirstie without the cameras) until she decided, one fateful day, that it was time for a change – time to pursue the dream of being a writer.

Seven years on; time spent in her garret learning her craft, she is often found talking to herself with yellow ‘post its’ stuck to her forehead. She likes to write about relationships: couples, a mother and child, siblings, best friends… She likes to peel away the layers and see what’s going on beneath and then tell you all about it.

Genre – Contemporary – Chick Lit – Read June 2015

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Join the Conversation

%d bloggers like this: