The Man Who Died Twice – Richard Osman (The Thursday Murder Club Book 2)

It’s the following Thursday.

Elizabeth has received a letter from an old colleague, a man with whom she has a long history. He’s made a big mistake, and he needs her help. His story involves stolen diamonds, a violent mobster, and a very real threat to his life.

As bodies start piling up, Elizabeth enlists Joyce, Ibrahim and Ron in the hunt for a ruthless murderer. And if they find the diamonds too? Well, wouldn’t that be a bonus?

But this time they are up against an enemy who wouldn’t bat an eyelid at knocking off four septuagenarians. Can the Thursday Murder Club find the killer (and the diamonds) before the killer finds them?

Book Information: Print length: 422 pages. Publisher: Penguin. Publication Date: 16 Sep 2021

Richard Osman

Richard Osman is an author, producer and television presenter. The Thursday Murder Club is his first novel. He is well known for TV shows including Pointless and Richard Osman’s House of Games. As the creative director of Endemol UK, Richard has worked as an executive producer on numerous shows including Deal Or No Deal and 8 Out of 10 Cats. He is also a regular on panel and game shows such as Have I Got News For You, Would I Lie To You and Taskmaster.

My Review:

The Man Who Died Twice is the 2nd book in the cosy murder series by “celebrity” author Richard Osman and if you haven’t read book 1 – The Thursday Murder Club then STOP RIGHT NOW, go and buy the book, read it and then come back.

If you have read book 1, then you can continue to read my review. The second book The Man Who Died Twice is basically set the following Thursday after book 1 and once again those four wonderful septuagenarians are faced with a murder, the mob and £20million pounds worth of missing diamonds. Who said retirement was boring?

Book 2 concentrates more on Elizabeth and her shady past as former M15 operative and when her ex-husband turns up at Cooper’s Chase Retirement Village looking for help, Elizabeth, Joyce, Ibrahim and Ron soon find themselves knee deep in dead bodies.

If you enjoyed book 1 – then you are in for a treat as the sequel has more of the same; mayhem, murders, mafia and maturing amateur detectives.

It was wonderful to meet up again with these characters and find out more about them individually. From Joyce’s wonderful diary entries to Ron’s relationship with his grandson, Ibrahim’s struggle with being viciously attacked and Elizabeth’s gentle and caring intimacy with her husband and his ongoing dementia struggles.

This, to me, is more than just a cozy murder mystery. It’s a wonderful celebration of life, love and friendship and never growing old gracefully.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Find this book on Amazon