Lying in Wait – Liz Nugent

“My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.”

The last people who expect to be meeting with a drug-addicted prostitute are a respected judge and his reclusive wife. And they certainly don’t plan to kill her and bury her in their exquisite suburban garden.

Yet Andrew and Lydia Fitzsimons find themselves in this unfortunate situation.

While Lydia does all she can to protect their innocent son Laurence and their social standing, her husband begins to falls apart.

But Laurence is not as naïve as Lydia thinks. And his obsession with the dead girl’s family may be the undoing of his own.

My Review:  Now I don’t know about you, but sometimes just the blurb and the first paragraph of a book is enough for me to know that this is my kind of book and Lying in Wait is certainly “my kind of book!”.  Lying in Wait is the story of Andrew and Lydia Fitzsimmons and their only son Lawrence.  The story starts off with a murder and we know immediately who killed Annie Doyle, but we don’t know why.  The story is wonderfully narrated through Lydia (OMG mother-from-hell), Lawrence (mollycoddled only son) and Karen’s (the murdered girls sister) and with each chapter more secrets are uncovered and more twists are revealed.  This is a very dry and dark psychological thriller which ticked all my personal requirements for a 5 star book.

  • Unlikeable characters  
  • Dry Humour & Sarcasm  ✔
  • Page Turner  ✔
  • Twisted and Uncomfortable ✔
  • Killer Ending  

I loved this and it will be going into my Top Ten Books of 2017

About The AuthorIn her early career Liz Nugent worked as a stage manager in theatres in Ireland and toured internationally. More recently, Liz has written extensively for radio and television drama. She has been shortlisted for the prestigious Francis McManus Short Story Award. She lives with her husband in her native Dublin.  Unravelling Oliver was her first novel.


Find this book on Amazon