No More Lies – Rachel Abbott (DI Tom Douglas #11)

It would be unfair to blame the woman I met tonight for turning my life upside down. She didn’t. It was already upside down. I just didn’t know it.

Recently life has been good for Mallory Hansen: a great job, a lovely home, and a wonderful man, Nathan, to share it with.

But now she must ask herself: is it all built on lies?

A terrible accusation has been made against Nathan, and Mallory doesn’t know who to believe. All the signs point to his guilt. She has learned to trust Nathan, but she also remembers the boy he used to be.

Together, Mallory and Nathan were part of a close-knit group of six friends until a vicious argument drove them apart. Now, fifteen years later, they are back in touch – only to find themselves drawn into a web of mutual distrust, one by one…

The attacks on their lives are cleverly targeted, designed to hit them where they hurt the most, and when a young woman disappears and a baby is abducted, DCI Tom Douglas must try to unravel the past and discover who is the architect of their misery.

Print Length: 426 pages. Publisher: Black Dot Publishing Ltd. Publication Date: 16 Feb 2023

Rachel Abbott’s debut thriller, Only the Innocent, was an international bestseller, reaching the number one position in the Amazon charts both in the UK and US. This was followed by the number one bestselling novels The Back Road, Sleep Tight, Stranger Child, Nowhere Child (a short novel based on the characters from Stranger Child), Kill Me Again, The Sixth Window, Come a Little Closer, The Shape of Lies, Right Behind You and Close Your Eyes. The new thriller in the Tom Douglas series – No More Lies – was released in February 2023.

In 2018 Rachel released the first book in a new series – And So It Begins. This was followed by The Murder Game in 2020 (The Invitation in the US).

Rachel’s novels have now been translated into over 20 languages and have sold over 5 million copies.

In 2015 Amazon celebrated the first five years of the Kindle in the UK, and announced that Rachel was the number one bestselling independent author over the five-year period. She was also placed fourteenth in the chart of all authors. Stranger Child was the most borrowed novel for the Kindle in the first half of 2015.

Rachel now lives in Alderney – a beautiful island off the coast of France – where she devotes her time to her love of writing fiction. For more information, see Rachel’s website at, or follow her on Facebook or Twitter.

My Review:

Rachel Abbott is one of my favourite authors and it’s always a joy and a privilege to be invited onto one of her blogtours and my thanks to Anne Cater for the invitation and copy of the book No More Lies.

No More Lies is the 11th book in the amazing DCI Tom Douglas series and if you haven’t had the pleasure of reading this series yet, then I can 100% recommend each and every book and to be extra helpful I’ve listed them all in order at the bottom of this post.

For those of you who have read this series you will be delighted to learn that Tom Douglas is back and is facing another complex case. This time we have an abducted toddler, a lawyer accused of sexual misconduct and a missing woman. As Tom and his team slowly uncover the connections between these cases, more crimes are being committed and lives are now in danger.

As usual with Rachel’s books, the main narrator is often a victim or primary character which always gives the reader a better understanding of what is happening throughout the story through various points of view. This time the main narrator is Mallory Hansen who has a great job, loving partner and on the face of it, everything looks perfect. However at her local book club she discovers her partner Nathan has been lying to her and the life she has spent years building is about to come crashing down.

No More Lies is another brilliant example of a page-gripping, complex and clever crime thriller which is guaranteed to keep the readers engaged, engrossed and completely addicted.

It’s always wonderful to catch up with Tom and his family to find out how he’s coping as a new father and his relationships with his wife, daughter and ex-wife.

Another superb 5 star read for me and as ever I can’t wait to read more from Rachel Abbott.   

DI Tom Douglas Series.
   1. Only The Innocent (2011)
   2. The Back Road (2013)
   3. Sleep Tight (2014)
   4. Stranger Child (2015)
   4.5. Nowhere Child (2015)
   5. Kill Me Again (2016)
   6. The Sixth Window (2017)
   7. Come A Little Closer (2018)
   8. The Shape of Lies (2019)
   9. Right Behind You (2020)
   10. Close Your Eyes (2021)
   11. No More Lies (2023)

Find this book on Amazon