Pariah – David Jackson (Callum Doyle Book 1)

Where can you turn when your very presence brings death to those around you?

That’s the question Detective Callum Doyle is about to face. It begins with the calculated murder of his partner on a vacant lot. But more death is to follow, and when the chilling anonymous messages arrive, Doyle is left in no doubt that this is about him.

You cannot go near your friends, your colleagues, or even your family. Because if you do… they will be killed.

To save others, Doyle is forced to cut himself off from society. But with the investigation getting nowhere and his isolation becoming unbearable, Doyle has to ask himself how much he’s willing to sacrifice to get his life back.

My Review:  This is the first book in the brilliant Callum Doyle series (which I admit to reading “OUT OF ORDER”)… I thought this was a cracking start to this series and read this literally sitting on the edge of my seat.  It’s pretty gritty and gruesome in places and personally I LOVED Callum’s sense of humour.  Highly recommend this series.

About the Author:  David Jackson is the author of a series of crime thrillers featuring Irish-American NYPD Detective Callum Doyle. The first in the series, Pariah, was Highly Commended in the Crime Writers Association Debut Dagger Awards. It is published by Pan Macmillan. His writing influences include Ed McBain, Dennis Lehane, George Pelecanos, Robert Crais, Michael Connelly and Harlan Coben, amongst many others. His favourite quote about his work is one from the Guardian, now carried on the front of his novels: ‘Recalls Harlan Coben – though for my money Jackson is the better writer.’

Books in Order: Callum Doyle

  1. Pariah
  2. The Helper –  see my review here
  3. Marked – see my review here
  4. Cry Baby – see my review here

Find this book on Amazon