Play Dead – Angela Marsons (DI Kim Stone Book 4)

The dead don’t tell secrets… unless you listen.

The girl’s smashed-in face stared unseeing up to the blue sky, soil spilling out of her mouth. A hundred flies hovered above the bloodied mess.

Westerley research facility is not for the faint-hearted. A ‘body farm’ investigating human decomposition, its inhabitants are corpses in various states of decay. But when Detective Kim Stone and her team discover the fresh body of a young woman, it seems a killer has discovered the perfect cover to bury their crime.

Then a second girl is attacked and left for dead, her body drugged and mouth filled with soil. It’s clear to Stone and the team that a serial killer is at work – but just how many bodies will they uncover? And who is next?

As local reporter, Tracy Frost, disappears, the stakes are raised. The past seems to hold the key to the killer’s secrets – but can Kim uncover the truth before a twisted, damaged mind claims another victim …?

My Review:  This is the 4th book in what is fast becoming one of my favourite crime series.  Whilst it can be read as a standalone, personally I would recommend reading all the books in order as they are all wonderful.  Once again we meet DI Kim Stone and her team who have been sent over to Westerley, a forensic research centre that has been assisting the police in cold cases.  This is also known as a body farm (wtf?) where they study decomposing bodies that have been left to medical research (so gross).  Once the team arrive and are being shown around the facility they discover the fresh body of a young woman beaten to death.  Suddenly a routine site visit becomes the subject of a murder investigation especially when more bodies start appearing.  Once again Angela Marson has created some rather twisted killers and a gripping storyline which is guaranteed to keep you turning the pages eager to find out what/who/where!  A solid 5 stars from me and can’t wait to read the next book in this series.

About the Author: Angela Marsons lives in the Black Country with her partner, their bouncy Labrador and a swearing parrot. She is signed to for a total of 8 books.

  1. Silent Scream – Published Feb 2015
  2. Evil Games – Published May 2015
  3. Lost Girls – Published Nov 2015
  4. Play Dead – Published May 2016
  5. Blood Lines – Published Nov 2016

Find this book on Amazon