The Liar – Steve Cavanagh (Eddie Flynn Book 3)



Leonard Howell’s worst nightmare has come true: his daughter Caroline has been kidnapped. Not content with relying on the cops, Howell calls the only man he trusts to get her back.


Eddie Flynn knows what it’s like to lose a daughter and vows to bring Caroline home safe. Once a con artist, now a hotshot criminal attorney, Flynn is no stranger to the shady New York underworld.


However, as he steps back into his old life, Flynn realizes that the rules of game have changed – and that he is being played. But who is pulling the strings? And is anyone in this twisted case telling the truth…?

A missing girl, a desperate father and a case that threatens to destroy everyone involved – Eddie Flynn’s got his work cut out in the thrilling new novel from the author of The Defence.

My Review:  I’ve been on an Eddie Flynn binge read this week as his latest book Thirteen is coming out soon and being the OCD person I am I have to read books in order, and boy have I enjoyed myself.  If you haven’t met Eddie yet – then trust me when I say you need to make his acquaintance and read The Defence first.  Eddie Flynn is an ex-con/hustler and now a hot shot New York lawyer.  Each book gets better in my opinion and The Liar is FANTASTIC.

The Liar is a gripping, fast paced legal thriller with an edge.  Full of twists and turns this latest book sees Eddie defending an old family friend Leonard (Lenny) Howell on the charges of kidnap and murder and what follows is an adrenaline fuelled action thriller that literally kept me reading all night.

If you are looking for a new series which has fascinating characters, intelligent plot lines, twists, turns with a main character who is always prepared to go that extra mile and bend a few rules to protect his client then I 100% recommend you start reading this series NOW.

About the Author: Steve Cavanagh was born and raised in Belfast and is a practicing lawyer and holds a certificate in Advanced Advocacy. He is married with two young children. The Defence was chosen as one of Amazon’s great debuts for 2015, as part of their Amazon Rising Stars programme. In 2015 Steve received the ACES award for Literature from the Northern Ireland Arts Council. The Defence was longlisted for the Crime Writer’s Association Ian Fleming Steel Dagger, and shortlisted for two Dead Good Readers Awards.

Steve writes fast-paced legal thrillers set in New York City featuring series character Eddie Flynn.

Eddie Flynn Books in Order:

  1. The Defence
  2. The Plea
  3. The Liar
  4. Thirteen

Find this book on Amazon