The Seven Sisters (Seven Sisters Book 1) – Lucinda Riley

The Seven Sisters is a sweeping epic tale of love and loss by the international number one bestseller Lucinda Riley.

Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings.

Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to complete his vision. Izabela—passionate and longing to see the world—convinces her father to allow her to accompany him and his family to Europe before she is married. There, at Paul Landowski’s studio and in the heady, vibrant cafes of Montparnasse, she meets ambitious young sculptor Laurent Brouilly, and knows at once that her life will never be the same again.

In this sweeping, epic tale of love and loss—the first in a unique, spellbinding series of seven novels—Lucinda Riley showcases her storytelling talent like never before.

The Seven Sisters is the first book in the spellbinding Seven Sisters series.

About The Author:

Lucinda Riley was born in Ireland, and after an early career as an actress in film, theatre and television, wrote her first book aged twenty-four. Her books have been translated into over thirty five languages and sold twenty-five million copies worldwide. She is a Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller.

Lucinda is currently writing The Seven Sisters series, which tells the story of adopted sisters and is inspired by the mythology of the famous star cluster. It has become a global phenomenon, with each book in the series being a No.1 bestseller across the world. The series is currently in development with a major Hollywood production company.

My Review:

Fancy a sweeping epic family drama with a huge dose of historical fiction thrown in which is guaranteed to help you escape this crazy world?  Then I highly recommend you start this series – starting obviously with Book 1 – The Seven Sisters.

Pa Salt, an elusive millionaire living in a stunning house in Lake Geneva suddenly dies from a heart attack.  He has 6 adopted grown-up daughters all named after The Seven Sisters of the Pleiades who return to their childhood home, Atlantis, upon hearing the tragic news.  Each daughter is given a clue to her heritage and past, having never been told where Pa Salt adopted them from and each book in this series tells their own story.

In this book (book 1), we are introduced to Maia, the eldest daughter, a translator who lives a very secluded life with her father in Lake Geneva.  She has a painful past which has kept her isolated and alone for much of her adult life.  When her beloved father dies and leaves Maia her clue, she forces herself to follow the clues and finds herself in Rio de Janeiro in Brazil.

The reader is then transported back 80 years into the life and love of Izabela Bonifacio and slowly we find out where Maia comes from and why she was adopted.

I listened to this book on audio because I had a couple of credits and as soon as I was halfway through I downloaded the rest of the series.  The narrator is wonderful, breathing life into all the many characters and bringing Rio to life in a fascinating and atmospheric way.

Pure escapism and beautifully told – The Seven Sisters is a wonderful book.

Books in order:

  • The Seven Sisters (2014)
  • The Storm Sister (2015)
  • The Shadow Sister (2016)
  • The Pearl Sister (2017)
  • The Moon Sister (2018)
  • The Sun Sister (2019)

Find this book on Amazon