Top Tens

Ten Books That Made Me Say “WTF!!!”

I don’t know about you, but I personally love a good headf*ck in a book.  Typically one that makes me say “WTF!!!” at some stage, shake my head in disbelief and then silently applaud the author for the brilliant twist which I didn’t see coming.

Obviously I am not going to tell you about the “WTF” moments or reveal the twists, but I will list the books that made my Top Ten with a link to my full review.   If you have read them, then I am pretty sure you will agree with me.  If you haven’t read them yet – I highly recommend you do.  If you think I have missed any books, please comment below as I will be interested in checking our your recommendations.

1.  I Let You Go – Clare Mackintosh – Click here for my full review

A tragic accident. It all happened so quickly. She couldn’t have prevented it. Could she?

In a split second, Jenna Gray’s world descends into a nightmare. Her only hope of moving on is to walk away from everything she knows to start afresh. Desperate to escape, Jenna moves to a remote cottage on the Welsh coast, but she is haunted by her fears, her grief and her memories of a cruel November night that changed her life forever.

Slowly, Jenna begins to glimpse the potential for happiness in her future. But her past is about to catch up with her, and the consequences will be devastating . .

 

2.  Behind Her Eyes – Sarah Pinborough – Click here for my full review

Louise: Since her husband walked out, Louise has made her son her world, supporting them both with her part-time job. But all that changes when she meets…

David: Young, successful and charming – Louise cannot believe a man like him would look at her twice let alone be attracted to her. But that all comes to a grinding halt when she meets his wife…

Adele: Beautiful, elegant and sweet – Louise’s new friend seems perfect in every way. As she becomes obsessed by this flawless couple, entangled in the intricate web of their marriage, they each, in turn, reach out to her.

But only when she gets to know them both does she begin to see the cracks… Is David really is the man she thought she knew and is Adele as vulnerable as she appears?
Just what terrible secrets are they both hiding and how far will they go to keep them?

 

3.  Sometimes I Lie – Alice Feeney – Click here for my full review

My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me.

1. I’m in a coma

2. My husband doesn’t love me any more

3. Sometimes I lie

Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won’t be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it’s perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

 

4.  Between You and Me – Lisa Hall – Click here for my full review

They say every marriage has its secrets.
But no one sees what happens behind closed doors.
And sometimes those doors should never be opened…

Sal and Charlie are married. They love each other. But they aren’t happy. Sal cannot leave, no matter what Charlie does – no matter how much it hurts.

 

5.  The Memory Box – Eva Lesko Natiello – Click here for my full review

A psychological thriller with twists & turns until the last page.

What if you Googled yourself & found something shocking?

In this gripping page turner suspense, Caroline Thompson Googles herself and discovers the shocking details of a past she doesn’t remember.

 

 

6.  Twisted – Andrew E Kaufman – Click here for my full review

The psychologist with a troubled past…

Dr. Christopher Kellan spends his days at Loveland Psychiatric Hospital, overseeing a unit known as Alpha Twelve, home to the most deranged and psychotic killers imaginable. His newest patient, Donny Ray Smith, is accused of murdering ten young girls and making their bodies disappear. But during his first encounter with Donny, Christopher finds something else unsettling: the man looks familiar.

The killer with a secret…

Donny Ray knows things about Christopher—things he couldn’t have possibly learned at Loveland. As the psychologist delves deeper into the mysterious patient’s case, Christopher’s life whirls out of control. The contours of his mind are rapidly losing shape, and his grasp on reality is slipping even faster. Is he going mad, or is that what Donny Ray wants him to think?

The terror that binds them…

In this taut psychological thriller from Andrew E. Kaufman, bestselling author of The Lion, the Lamb, the Hunted, a tormented man must face his fear and enter the mind of a killer to find the truth…even if it costs him his sanity.

 

7.  Dying for Christmas – Tammy Cohen – Click here for my full review

I am missing. Held captive by a blue-eyed stranger. To mark the twelve days of Christmas, he gives me a gift every day, each more horrible than the last. The twelfth day is getting closer. After that, there’ll be no more Christmas cheer for me. No mince pies, no carols. No way out …

But I have a secret. No-one has guessed it. Will you?

 

8.  No Kiss Goodbye – Janelle Harris – Click here for my full review

Kids change your life, they said.  Things will never be the same again, they said.  Isn’t it wonderful, they said.
But no one knows what to say now.

My husband wants to take the kids.  My husband thinks the accident was my fault.  My husband thinks I need help.

But I think he wants rid of me.

 

9.  Still Missing – Chevy Stevens – Click here for my full review

On the day she was abducted, thirty-two year-old Annie Sullivan had three goals – sell a house, forget a recent argument with her mother, and be on time for dinner with her ever-patient boyfriend.

Then a van pulls up outside the house she is selling. Annie thinks it’s her lucky day.

But nothing could be further from the truth…

 

10.  The Good Girl – Mary Kubica – Click here for my full review

I’ve been following her for the past few days. I know where she buys her groceries, where she has her dry cleaning done, where she works. I don’t know the colour of her eyes or what they look like when they’re scared. But I will.

Mia Dennett can’t resist a one-night stand with the enigmatic stranger she meets in a bar.

But going home with him might turn out to be the worst mistake of Mia’s life…

 

What do you think of my list?  Any books you think I should have included?  Love to hear your recommendations x

 

You Might Also Like

4 Comments

  • Reply
    kat28w
    May 30, 2017 at 3:10 pm

    I have a few of these but www underwhelmed, a few are still on my tbr or wish list

  • Reply
    kristin's_novelcafe
    May 30, 2017 at 3:22 pm

    I’ve only read Between You and Me and was blown away! Another one for me was A Mothers Confession by Kelly Rimmer. A huge twist 🙂

    • Reply
      Tracy Fenton
      May 30, 2017 at 6:29 pm

      I was umming and arring about A Mother’s Confession which I absolutely loved and put in my top ten books of 2016, but in the end I thought the twist which shocked me to the core was more emotional than WTF x

  • Reply
    ashleywislock
    May 30, 2017 at 3:40 pm

    Oooooh. “The Good Girl” is still on sale on Amazon I think, so I may now have to check that out. Great post!

  • Join the Conversation

    %d bloggers like this: